2019 Gala

The Gala is the El Paso County Bar Foundation's only fundraiser and we think it is one of the easiest and most enjoyable ways for our benefactors to help us support great community programs. The proceeds raised by the Gala are, in part, distributed in annual grants.

In 2018, the Foundation awarded $15,500 in grants to the following local non-profit organizations:

  • Court Care for the Pikes Peak Region
  • The Justice Center
  • Safe Passage
  • Colorado Springs Teen Court

The Foundation also administers $20,000 in scholarships for the Ben Wendelken and Ruth Rouss Scholarship Funds awarded to students at University of Colorado Law School and Denver University Sturm College of Law.

Without support of people in the community, the Foundation would never exist nor could we give back to the community in such a positive and meaningful way.

Gala 2019 Recap

Guests enjoyed a memorable evening Saturday, March 9th at the Bar Foundation's annual Gala held this year at the Club at the Flying Horse. While it wasn't Montenegro, 007 would have approved of the festivities! Guests enjoyed cocktails and beautiful views while catching up with colleagues in a relaxed setting. This year's event sold out several days before the event and it did not disappoint!

This years event was held at

Club at Flying Horse

Award Presentation

Gala Chair, Alex Masterson, kicked off the evening with introductions of Board members and special guests. Jim Flynn presented the 2019 Founders Award to long-time colleague Ed Gleason of Lewis Roca Rothgerger Christie, highlighting his accomplishments, leadership and personal commitment to our legal profession. Ed graciously accepted the award. After the presentation, everyone enjoyed a delicious dinner, dessert and then dancing to the music of the Radio Band, al lively Denver ensemble.

Alex Masterson

2019 Gala Chairperson

Award presented by:

Jim Flynn

2019 Founders Award


The Bar Foundation Board of Directors thanks all of the sponsors of this event:

DIAMOND SPONSORS: Sherman and Howard and Drexler Law

PLATINUM SPONSORS: Dailey Law, PC, Lewis Roca Rothgerger Christie, Gaddis, Herd, Craw & Adams and Hogan Lovells

GOLD SPONSORS: Johnson Kush, PC, Knies, Helland & McPerson, PLLC, Heuser & Heuser, Lewis, Kuhn & Swan, Barby & Ken Schlabs, Patricia Germer-Coolidge, Kirtland & Seal and Joseph Lambert

SILVER SPONSORS: Richard Wood, Steve & Debi Pelican, Paul Haller and Amy Folsom

BRONZE SPONSORS: Wynetta Massey, Debra Eiland and James Flynn

FRIENDS OF THE FOUNDATION: William Bain, Timothy J. Simmons, Gary Dailey, Ronald Crowder, Steve Ezell, Henry B. Eastland, Anne Turner, Doyle Baker and Dan Kay

Your contributions support the Foundation in awarding grants to local non-profit organizations related to the legal field. Click here to read more about the grant program and past recipients.

2019 Gala Photos